Do you love AirHeads and wonder, “are AirHeads vegan”? Well, if you are vegan, it’s no secret that you avoid products made with dairy or animal-based products.
But did you know that some of the most popular candies out there contain gelatin? If so, do they still count as vegan?
Many of us assume that gelatin is just for meat products and do not realize it was derived from animal tissue.
As far as AirHeads are concerned, several flavors of AirHead candies are non-vegan except for a few popular ones, like AirHeads bars or AirHeads Xtremes. Overall, most AirHeads contain gelatin.
So, it’s fine for vegans to eat AirHeads if they are made without using animals or animal-based products after reading the ingredients list.
What are AirHeads?
You may be wondering, “what are AirHeads?” AirHeads are a chewy candy made in various flavors, such as key lime, watermelon, sour apple, blue raspberry, etc.
AirHeads first appeared in the early 1990s and sold very well. Over the years, AirHeads have gained a large fan following, and it sells like hotcakes, especially on Halloween.
It is quite popular among children and people who like sour sweets. Some people describe AirHead candies as “sour puss in a bag.”
AirHeads are a soft candy, but they are very chewy and can take some time to eat. The original AirHeads were made with milk-based gelatin derived from cow bones, but today’s AirHeads use gelatin made from sodium caseinate or beef protein.
What are the Controversial AirHeads Ingredients?
Before we start our AirHead’s vegans analysis, you should take note of the controversial ingredients used in AirHeads. The list is as follows:
Sugar is an ingredient used to bring out the flavors of the AirHead candies.
Many people are concerned about sugar being considered an animal product. Some people avoid consuming any sweets due to sugar, but others do not mind sugar in their diet.
The AirHeads candies are not the only sweet treats that use sugar; most candies include sugar as one of their main ingredients.
Flavoring (Artificial or natural)
Natural flavors can come from plant or animal sources. Natural plant flavors are used in candies, and animal-based flavors are highlighted if used.
Palm Oil/Palm Fat
Palm oil is derived from the fruits of the palm tree used in many products. It is a controversial ingredient as palm oil cultivation has quite a devastating impact on the environment.
Also, it harms several animals, and that’s why vegan people don’t consume palm oil products.
Colors are used in the AirHeads, and it is also a controversial product as it was first tested on animals.
AirHeads Candy Ingredients & Details
1- AirHeads Bars
Ingredients: Sugar, Palm Oil, Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Dextrose, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Artificial Flavor, Water, Maltodextrin, Artificial Colors.
Are AirHeads Bars Vegan?
According to Peta, AirHeads bars are entirely vegan-friendly. According to the ingredients mentioned on their website, you have to agree that they all are vegan-friendly. The controversial ingredients can concern a few vegans, but AirHeads bars are vegan.
2- AirHeads Soft Filled Bites
Ingredients: Glucose, Sugar, Artificial Flavors, Malic Acid, Sorbitol Syrup, Dextrose, Citric Acid, Corn Starch, Food Starch – Modified (Corn), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Lactic Acid,
Are AirHeads Soft Filled Bites Vegan?
Unfortunately, soft-filled bites are not for vegans as they contain gelatin obtained from animal skin, cartilage, or bones.
3- AirHeads Gummies
Ingredients: Corn Syrup, Sugar, Gelatin, Pectin, Artificial Flavors, Coconut Oil, Sodium Citrate, Beeswax, Carnauba Wax.
Are AirHeads Gummies Vegan?
No, AirHeads gummies are also not vegans as they contain gelatin + beeswax.
4- AirHeads Bites Ingredients
Ingredients: Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Dextrose, Citric Acid, Modified Corn Starch, Sorbitol, Artificial Flavors, Rice Starch, Carnauba Wax, Beeswax, Shellac, Sucrose Esters Of Fatty Acids, Artificial Colors.
Are AirHeads Bites Vegan?
No, AirHeads bites are also not vegan as they contain beeswax and Shellac. Both these ingredients are not considered as vegan-friendly.
5- AirHeads Xtremes
Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Wheat Flour, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Modified (Potato), Artificial Flavors and Colors, Food Starch – Modified (Corn), Food Starch, Malic Acid, Citric Acid.
Are AirHeads Xtremes Vegan?
Yes, as a vegan, you can enjoy AirHeads Xtremes as they contain no animal-based product.
6- AirHeads Xtremes Sourfuls
Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Starch, Food Starch – Modified (Corn), Malic Acid, Dextrose, Citric Acid, Coconut Oil, Lactic Acid, Gelatin, Artificial Flavors.
Are AirHeads Xtremes Sourfuls Vegan?
No, because AirHeads Xtremes Sourfuls contain gelatin which is not vegan-friendly.
7- AirHeads Xtremes Bites
Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Artificial Flavors, Salt, Corn Starch, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Malic Acid, Palm Oil, Potassium Citrate, Colors Added (Carmine, Blue 1).
Are AirHeads Xtremes Bites Vegan?
No, this AirHeads flavor contains carmine. It is an added color that is extracted from insects. So, if you are vegan, AirHeads Xtreme bites are not recommended.
That’s it for now as we have answered your query Are AirHeads Vegan. Well, vegans can enjoy AirHeads sweets as long as they know the ingredients used in making AirHeads and use vegan alternatives for those ingredients.
According to our analysis, only AirHeads Xtremes and AirHeads bars are vegan-friendly candies. So, if you are a vegan, you can enjoy these two flavors of AirHeads.
Q: Are AirHead candies vegan?
No, not all AirHeads candies are vegan, as per our analysis. If you are a vegan, just choose AirHeads bars or AirHeads Xtremes.
Q: Do AirHeads have gelatin in them?
Yes, AirHeads flavors like “AirHeads Soft Filled Bites,” “AirHeads Gummies,” and “AirHeads Xtremes Sourfuls” contain gelatin extracts.
Q: Do AirHeads have pork in them?
AirHeads use non-specific gelatin, so it can be beef, fish, or pork.
Q: Are AirHeads unhealthy?
No, AirHeads are not unhealthy as they are made of low sugar, but they can damage your teeth.
Also read: Are pringles vegan (All flavors)?